Status: Medical use only
2011: Medical cannabis legalised
2015: Legal sales of medical cannabis begin
2015: Small amounts decriminalised
(2020): Bill to legalise recreational cannabis to be voted on this year
- Patients must obtain a state-issued card which costs $US125 and must be renewed annually, and must have a qualifying medical condition;
- The state has only one medical cannabis facility;
- Patients cannot cultivate their own cannabis;
- Patients cannot possess more than 6oz (170g) at a time;
- Illegal possession of under 1oz (28g) of cannabis was decriminalised to an infraction in 2015 (no criminal record or prison time - fine only);
- There are an estimated 6060 registered medical cannabis patients in Delaware, according to Delaware Health and Social Services;
- Possession of up to 6oz (175g) is a misdemeanour punishable by three months in prison and fines of up to $US575;
- Possession of more 6oz is a felony punishable by up to 25 years in prison. Fines are subject to the discretion of the court;
- Cultivation or sale is a felony punishable by up to 25 years in prison. Fines are subject to the discretion of the court.
- Between 2005 and 2017, cannabis use disorder in people over the age of 12 decreased from 1.9% to 1.7%;
- In 2018, sales of medical marijuana reached $US7.1 million.