Status: Medical Use
2015: Municipal reforms begin (decriminalisation in some cities and regions)
2016: Medical cannabis legalised
- Patients must have a qualifying condition (there are 23 listed);
- Patients must be certified by a doctor and register to the programme to obtain medical cannabis legally;
- 30-day supply as prescribed by a doctor;
- No allowance made for patients to cultivate their own cannabis at home;
- Pennsylvania can have up to 25 licensed medical cannabis growers and up to 50 dispensaries;
- Medical cannabis can only be obtained from a dispensary;
- There are an estimated 116,000 registered medical cannabis patients in Pennsylvania, according to the Pennsylvania Department of Health;
- Possession of less than 30g (1oz) of cannabis for recreational use is a misdemeanour punishable by up to 30 days in prison and a fine of up to $US500;
- Possession of over 30g of recreational cannabis is a misdemeanour punishable by up to a year in prison and fines of up to $US5000;
- Sale or distribution of less than 30g of cannabis without remuneration is a misdemeanour punishable by up to 30 days in prison and fines of up to $US500;
- Sale or distribution of more than 30g of cannabis is a felony punishable by up to five years in prison and fines of up to $US15,000;
- Cultivation of any number of plants is a felony punishable by up to five years in prison and fines of up to $US15,000.
- Between 2005 and 2017, cannabis use disorder in people over the age of 12 decreased from 1.5% to 1.4%.